My Versatile Blogger Award

versatile-blogger-award

Welcome back readers!

I was pleasantly surprised yesterday to find out I’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by the very generous and talented Mitch Teemley, (thank you!) whose post on fatherhood was really inspiring. Receiving an award for my blog is something which I fully appreciate as I have not been at this for very long (it will be a year this month).

When my wife and I had our son, I thought it would be fun to create a blog on parenthood and add my own sarcastic twist. At first, I had no idea how to start. And then my fear was running out of ideas. Luckily, my little family provides more than enough inspiration. And I have more than enough sarcasm to put a funny spin on certain situations while also “keeping it real.”

A Versatile Blogger Award is used by bloggers to promote fellow bloggers who appeal to them. I feel it is a great way to create an atmosphere of support for anyone who tries to undertake this wonderful (and at times difficult) adventure of writing about their passion(s).

So there are two parts to this award: First I must tell you seven lies….um I mean things, about myself. Alright, here goes!

(1.) I am a stay-at-home dad: My wife and I could never put a child into daycare. There are too many crazy stories happening in those places. Luckily we had the means for me to stay home.

(2.) I was a teacher before this adventure: I used to teach in a charter high school. It gave me the training to handle one toddler as I used to deal with about 50 high-school aged toddlers.

(3.) I have a Criminal Justice degree and used to work in correctionsWorking in a jail also showed me how to deal with a toddler, as both involve constant crisis negotiations.

(4.) I was born in Queens, NY but have lived in South Florida most of my life: But I still love cold weather so I enjoy winter. Which in South Florida lasts 3 days for the year.

(5.) I enjoy working out: Try to at least three days a week. The whole “Dad Bod” thing isn’t for me.

(6.) My wife and I love to travel: Which has been kind of put on hold with a little one running around. Speaking of which…

(7.) We are expecting another addition: My wife’s due date is in November. And I’ve schedule a vasectomy for the very next week.

The second part is nominating other blogs which I feel are great reads:

An Inviting Piece of the Pie – An interesting take on many different aspects of daily life.

Institution of Parenthood – Hilarious posts about parenting.

Here Be Ninja…(Amongst Other Things) – Very well done illustrations on various things like current affairs or just everyday life.

Misfit Spirit – A very raw, unfiltered, and powerfully written blog on parenting, relationships, and other items.

These are just some of the great and diverse blogs I’ve come across and enjoy following. If you want some great pieces to read, check out other writers I follow and you won’t be disappointed.  There are so many such as stomperdad, Coach Daddy, and mommatrek (along with many other bloggers) who have given their support to posts I’ve written, so thank you.

Also, thank you to all of the other readers, friends, and family who have read my posts and given encouragement.

Lastly, the most important thanks goes out to my wife, who actually helped me start this blog and also gives the time to read my entries before I post them. I love you.  

 

-Until next time.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “My Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for nominating me and your comments on my page! I aim for my page to be exactly as you described it so I’m pretty thrilled with myself right now (just kidding!…kinda lol). I’ll write mine up though.. as soon as I get off work, get dinner, see my child, etc. lol. Seriously though, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I am sometimes lol. Sharing it with the world is still a semi-new endeavor for me though so it’s really cool when people (like yourself) give feedback and appreciate it. I write for myself, to keep my sanity and enjoy my life; but it’s still awesome to have people who take the time to read it and enjoy it. So thank them for your encouragement.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. We seem to have much in common, my friend. I was a stay home dad for a year. I too am a teacher (though elementary level). I too enjoy working out. Though I prefer running. Congrats on your nomination! And a super thanks for the shout out! Congrats on nearly one year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow small world haha. Thank you and of course, I enjoy reading your posts!
      I used to like running but now I do more high intensity cardio mixed with body weight resistance and resistance bands. How long have you been in education?

      Like

Leave a Reply

