Happy Birthday To My Blog: I Made It To A Year And So Can You.

Welcome back readers!

I recently reached a very important personal milestone; it has been a year since my writing journey began. It sounds cliché, but the time really has gone by so quickly. Looking back, I can honestly say I am proud of my work so far. So many people attempt to become bloggers only to be discouraged by an eventual lack of ideas or audience. And I was not immune to that feeling.

There are so many blogs online, which makes it intimidating to find a voice to not only suit your personality but to also engage people. And then once you find a voice, there is the whole concept of networking to capture more people. It can be a huge challenge, but I have enjoyed attempting to conquer all obstacles.

So, since I have been doing this for a little while now, I want to extend a warm welcome to anybody who wants to create a blog. There will be some challenges, but I do have some tips which may help you get through the tribulations:

If you are worried about how to start, find your inspiration and just write. Decide on your topic and make notes of your ideas. Writing has to be done with a pen or keyboard, not in your head.

Use various social media platforms. I created a Facebook page and Twitter account to assist in promoting my blog. They have helped so far, but also don’t forget to reach out to other writers who use the same writing website as you. By finding, reading, and following these fellow bloggers, it helps increase your traffic as well.

When you run out of ideas, don’t give up. Everyone has lapses in creativity. Instead of fighting it, embrace it. Try find a subject you wouldn’t normally write about and tie it together with the specific topic of your blog. Or you could even reach out to others for ideas if the mental well runs dry.

These are just some ideas on how you might be able to get started with your blog. As I said, they may not work for everyone. And if they don’t, just remember that first and foremost, write for yourself. The readers will come eventually. And if you do struggle at some point and want to quit, it’s okay to step away. Try to not look at it as the end but as a pause. Time away can help get the creative juices flowing again. It was not a failed attempt, as your blog can be revived at a later time.

On that note, I want to thank everyone who has supported me so far, especially my wife and son (he doesn’t know it yet, but he is great inspiration). I look forward to continually post all of the sarcastic, heart-warming, and/or raw views of my parenting experiences. So here’s to my first year and to the many more to come!

birthday-cake-843921__340[1]
Image courtesy of https://pixabay.com/en/birthday-cake-first-birthday-one-843921/

-Until next time.

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday To My Blog: I Made It To A Year And So Can You.

Leave a Reply

